SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COVINGTON COMMUNITY SCHOOL CORPORATION BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

August 26, 2019

Mr. Chad Herzog, Member

COVINGTON COMMUNITY SCHOOL CORPORATION

Minutes from the Special Meeting of the Board of Education on August 26, 2019 in the Covington Elementary Conference room located at 1110 Seventh Street Covington, Indiana 47932

CALL TO ORDER:	Meeting called to order by Mrs. Carolyn Lloyd at 6:00 p.m Pledge of Allegiance was given	. The
ROLL:	Mrs. Carolyn Lloyd Mr. Doug Hunter Mr. Jason Beck Mr. Kevin Cates Mr. Chad Herzog	Present Present Absent Present
OFFICIAL	Dr. Kevin Smith, Superintendent Mrs. Michelle Beck, EL Princial Mr. Steve Reynolds, MS Principal Mrs. Alison Karrfalt, HS Principal	Present Absent Absent Absent

NEWS MEDIA:

GUESTS: Brad Short

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD – August 26, 2019 – 6:00 P.M.

2019-13-132 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made that the agenda of the August 26, 2019 special meeting of the Bard of School Trustees be approved as presented.

Motion by	Mr. Doug Hunter
Seconded by	Mr. Chad Herzog
Vote	4-0

2019-13-133 FINANCE/BUSINESS

ADDITIONAL APPROPRIATIONS RESOLUTION

When the state of Indiana approved our 2019 Budget they did so without providing enough appropriations to cover the amount needed to get us through the calendar year. The approved budget did, however, provide for the required funds to support our overall expenditure needs. The gap in appropriations approval occurred in the Education Fund.

A motion was made to approve the Additional Appropriation Resolution for two areas within the Education Fund, personnel expenses, and the amount of funds recently awarded by the state of Indiana through the Digital Learning Grant.

Motion by	Mr. Chad Herzog
Seconded by	Mr. Doug Hunter
Vote	4-0

2019-13-134 GIBRALTAR SCOPE OF WORK

Dr. Smith presented for review the Scope - of - Work agreement with Gibraltar Design, as aligned with our Rolling 10 Facility Improvement Plan. The board was provided a copy of a marked up Statement - of -Work. Dr. Smith previously reviewed the SOW and confirmed it aligns with the project work earmarked for the period of 2020 - 2022, as previously approved within our Rolling 10. Dale Wagner, of Gibraltar has agreed with the proposed modifications and is in the process of providing an updated Statement - of - Work for signature. A motion was made to approve the Gibraltar Design Statement - of -Work, with the proposed modifications, as presented.

Motion byMr. Doug HunterSeconded byMr. Jason BeckVote4-0

2019-13-135 TEACHER APPRECIATION GRANT

The board was presented with the first reading provision, for future consideration - the 2019 Teacher Appreciation Grant Policy. There was no action required of the board, however, in order to meet the state posting requirements Dr. Smith wanted to present the first reading for board awareness.

While there have been no changes to the policy, new state statute does allow for additional considerations to be applied, regarding how the grant funds are dispersed.

2019-13-136 PERSONNEL

A motion was made to approve the following personnel items:

New Hires

Ryan Sowers, Dean-of-Students, Covington Middle School Shawn Turner, CMS Football Coach Ben Jones, CMS Football Coach Leighann Shropshire, Maternity Leave Substitute Teacher - CMS

Transfer

Jamie Hughes - From CMS Special Needs Instructor to WRSSC Educational Consultant

Motion by	Mr. Chad Herzog
Seconded by	Mr. Doug Hunter
Vote	4-0

2019-13-137 PUBLIC HEARING - COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Pursuant to Senate Enrolled Act 390 and Indiana Code 20-29-6-19 (a) the floor was open for public comment related to teacher compensation. Dr. Smith explained the process. As dictated by Indiana statute, formal negotiations between CCSC and the Classroom Teachers Association may not begin until September 15. A CBA must be agreed to by November 15. If an agreement cannot be reached an impasse would then be declared, with the state of Indiana then becoming involved in the settlement process.

There was no public comment.

2019-13-138 ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made to adjourn at 6:21 p.m.

Motion by Vote

Mr. Doug Hunter Seconded by Mr. Jason Beck 4 - 0

Secretary of the Board