Staff Directory
Contact Us
 July Board Meeting Press Release


To: Students, Parents, Staff, and School – Community Members; Media
Fr:  Kevin Smith, Superintendent
Re:  July 2020 School Board Meeting Information

The Covington Community School Corporation School Board met for their monthly meeting on Monday, July 13, 2020.  The meeting was conducted in alignment with social distancing guidelines.

During the meeting the board received an update from school corporation superintendent Kevin Smith, high school principal Alison Karrfalt and elementary school principal Michelle Beck regarding the planning for reentering school facilities in the fall.  The school corporation will release their reentry plan following a special working session board meeting scheduled for Monday, July 20, 2020. 

“We are very close to having the plan buttoned up,” Smith said.  “The board is committed to present a plan for reentry that responsibly addresses the desires of our school – community, while at the same time meeting the guidance provided by county and state health officials.  The building leaders have put a lot of time, attention, and effort into the planning process and I am confident our students and parents will benefit from the guidance they have provided throughout the process.”

CCSC plans to welcome students back on Thursday, August 13, 2020.

The board entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with the Classroom Teachers Association during the July meeting as a component of the launch of the new health insurance benefits program with Cigna and ONI Risk Partners.  The MOU identifies new contribution rates that will go into effect September 1, 2020.

“The board and I are excited that for the second consecutive year our employees will not experience increases for their health insurance,” the CCSC superintendent stated.  “Employee premiums will actually be lower for the upcoming coverage year thanks to the diligent efforts of the ONI team led by Dan Grelecki, as well as the work of Brad Short and Scott Myers.”

In addition, the school corporation will offer a vision insurance option for its’ employees.

During the business portion of the agenda the board:

  • Approved the following ECA hires:
    • Scott Myers, Junior Varsity Football Coach
    • Troy Bever, Varsity Assistant Football Coach
    • Tyler Jordan, Varsity Assistant Football Coach (1/2 Position)
    • Tim Coffing, Varsity Assistant Football Coach (1/2 Position)
    • Ryan Ellmore, Volunteer Varsity Football Coach
    • Doug Hunter, Volunteer Varsity Football Coach
    • Ben Jones, 8th Grade Football Coach
    • Andy Moore, 7th Grade Football Coach
    • Hayden Harwood, 6th Grade Football Coach/Volunteer Middle School Assistant Football Coach
    • Damon Hegg, Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach
    • Keddy Sowers, Volunteer Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach
    • Tony Coleman, Volunteer Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach
    • Greg Flint, Volunteer Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach
    • Eric Stockberger, Volunteer Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach
    • Alison Brown, Junior Varsity Volleyball Coach
    • Kenzie Brazas, Freshman Volleyball Coach
    • Aliah Larson, 8th Grade Volleyball Coach
    • Angie Springer, Varsity Girls Golf Coach
    • Nancy Rahn, Volunteer Assistant Girls Golf Coach
    • Dottie Pettit, Cheerleading Coach
    • Mariah Kagels, Volunteer Assistant Cheerleading Coach
    • Marilyn Hankins, Volunteer Assistant Cheerleading Coach
    • Erin Gerling, Dance Team Coach
    • Kamryn Gerling, Volunteer Assistant Dance Team Coach
    • Kara Taylor, STEM Club Sponsor
    • Pacia Whittington STEM Club Sponsor
  • Approved the following hires:
    • Cindie Holliday, Maternity Leave Instructor – CES
    • Cathy Busick, Social and Emotional Coordinator
    • Guadalupe Batley, Speech and Language Assistant
  • Approved the following transfers:
    • Shelby Livengood, CES Physical Education Instructor
    • Travis Brown, CMS Physical Education Instructor
  • Approved Mike Howard’s recommendation for bus drivers in 2020 – 2021
    • Jared Brothers
    • Corey Smaltz
    • Gary Cooper
    • Brendan Woolwine
    • Laura Bell
    • Tina Kagels
    • Keith Klostner
    • Tim Spicer
    • LaDonna Spicer
    • Amanda Zordan
    • Barry Lyons
    • Rueben Spicer
    • Traci Allen
    • Jeannie Hines
    • Levi Richey
    • Darrell Paddock
  • Approved the hiring of Kyle Cates as School Resource Officer for 2020 – 2021.
  • Received the following project updates:
    • 7th Street Sidewalk removal is scheduled to begin on Tuesday, July 14, 2020.  The project is on track for completion prior to the start of school.
    • The middle school carpet replacement project is 80% complete, as of the date of the board meeting.
    • The middle school security vestibule project is planned to be completed by August 7, 2020.
    • The WRCTE automotive facility construction project has been completed through phases 1 and 2.  The project is on target for a projected September 2020 completion.
    • Demolition work has been launched in four classrooms – two at the high school and two at the elementary school – as a component of the 2020 Facility Improvement Project.
  • Approved a proposal to upgrade the fire alarm warning system in order to allow direct reporting capabilities.
  • Approved Ms. Karrfalt’s recommendation to accept five out – of – district student transfers.
  • Approved Ms. Beck’s 2020 – 2021 Reading Plan proposal.
  • Approved a proposal updating Policy 603 related to school and community relations.
  • Approved the 2020 – 2021 Athletic Coaching Handbook and 2020 – 2021 Student – Athlete Handbook as recommended by Mr. McCormick and Mr. Brown.
  • Authorized the superintendent to accept two Project Lead The Way Grants totaling $3,600.
  • Approved Mr. McCormick’s recommendation to continue the pricing structure established in 2019 – 2020 for all sports passes.
  • Was informed the school corporation’s initial Cares Act Budget has been submitted and approved.
  • Learned that the 2021 Secured School Safety Grant application has been submitted for consideration.
  • Heard that the 2021 Capital Projects and Bus Replacement Plans have been preliminarily completed.

The next scheduled meeting of the board of trustees is Monday, July 20, 2020.  The meeting will begin at 8:00 p.m.

Thank you for your support of our children and of the Covington School – Community.

Kevin R. Smith

Directions - CCSC
- CCSC with Google Maps
Contact Information
Hover to view
other addresses:
Covington Community School Corporation
601 Market Street
Covington, IN. 47932
  (Phone) 765-793-4877
  (Fax) 765-793-5209
Covington Community High School
1017 6th Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-2286
(Fax) 765-793-5200
Covington Middle School
514 Railroad Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-4451
(Fax) 765-793-5217
Covington Elementary School
1110 7th Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-2254
(Fax) 765-793-5214
District Office
High School
Middle School
Elementary School