Staff Directory
Contact Us
 May 2020 School Board Meeting – Information

To: Students, Parents, Staff, and School – Community Members; Media
Fr:  Kevin Smith, Superintendent
Re:  May 2020 School Board Meeting Information

The Covington Community School Corporation School Board met for their monthly meeting on Monday, May 11, 2020.  The meeting was conducted in alignment with social distancing and face covering guidance.  Virtual access was provided for public attendance.

During the meeting the board approved a proposal to re-schedule the 2020 graduation date for Saturday, July 11, 2020.  The ceremony is scheduled to be held at the Trojan Athletic Complex, beginning at 10:00 a.m.  A back-up plan, in the event of weather, has been identified.

In other business, the board named John Karrfalt as corporation Business Manager, effective July 1, 2020.  He replaces Trudie Dillon, who earlier announced her retirement effective at the end of the school year.

“I am excited for John to have this opportunity,” stated CCSC Superintendent Kevin Smith.  “He has been instrumental in the growth and development of our technological systems during his 15 years with the school corporation.  It is an opportunity that is well deserved.”

During the business portion of the agenda the board:

  • Approved the hiring of the following staff:
    • Sarah Dickerson, Elementary Instructor
    • Vince Evens, Part Time Criminal Justice Instructor
  • Approved the following transfers:
    • Amy Streuer, Kindergarten Instructor
    • Kara Taylor, STEM (PLTW) Instructor
    • Chelsea Taylor, Kindergarten Instructor
  • Accepted the resignations of the following individuals:
    • Jim Depratt, Criminal Justice Instructor
    • Adison Alward
    • Shawn Turner, Middle School Instructor
  • Approved Deb Stone as Interim Director for the Wabash Valley Special Services Cooperative.
  • Accepted the retirement of Jack Romine, Custodian.
  • Learned that bids for the 2020 Facility Improvement Project are due on Wednesday, May 13, 2020.
  • Approved the acceptance of a $9,500 grant provided by Project Lead The Way.
  • Approved a contract for Hayman Construction to construct the new WRCTE automotive facility.
  • Approved the use of Perkins grant funds for the purchase of new equipment items for the WRCTE automotive facility.
  • Approved a resolution declaring a list of equipment as surplus.
  • Approved a resolution declaring two automotive lifts as obsolete.
  • Approved a restatement resolution for the corporation’s 403 (b) retirement plan.
  • Adopted Board Policy 324-1 “Student Mental and Behavioral Services Records”.
  • Approved Board Policy 618, 618.1 “Fund Assistance”.
  • Approved a student transfer for the 2020 – 2021 school year.
  • Approved the modified school calendar for 160 days of student instruction.
  • Approved the purchase of new textbooks for middle school Science and Social Studies.
  • Approved a proposal for partial replacement of Chromebooks within the corporation.
  • Learned that the corporation will waive its’ summer moratorium for student – athletes.
  • Learned the senior honors program has been rescheduled as a virtual event for Thursday, June 4, 2020. 
  • Learned that a senior recognition day is being planned for Saturday, May 23.
  • Reminded those in attendance that all school facilities are closed through June 30, 2020.

The next scheduled meeting of the board of trustees is Monday, June 8, 2020.  The meeting will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Thank you for your support of our children and of the Covington School – Community.

Kevin R. Smith Superintendent

Directions - CCSC
- CCSC with Google Maps
Contact Information
Hover to view
other addresses:
Covington Community School Corporation
601 Market Street
Covington, IN. 47932
  (Phone) 765-793-4877
  (Fax) 765-793-5209
Covington Community High School
1017 6th Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-2286
(Fax) 765-793-5200
Covington Middle School
514 Railroad Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-4451
(Fax) 765-793-5217
Covington Elementary School
1110 7th Street
Covington, IN. 47932
(Phone) 765-793-2254
(Fax) 765-793-5214
District Office
High School
Middle School
Elementary School